TESOLS.com?

Hello! Where should I start? My name is Kayla and I want to be an EFL teacher in Asia, starting with Taiwan. I had planned on getting my CELTA once I got my AS degree. This was recommended by users here on Forumosa and it sounded so fun to go abroad for my certification! But it does cost a lot of money and I would have to start saving up now, years in advance.

Last night my friend sent me a link to this Groupon: groupon.com/deals/tesols-com … palm-beach

I’m wary because it sounds too good to be true. Could this be legitimate? Is TESOLS.com a respected source of a TEFL certificate? Would it be better to stick with the CELTA? Or should I perhaps do this one now in case I can’t afford the CELTA when the time comes? Am I even allowed to get this type of certification twice from two different places? If I get it now, will this certification even still be valid in a couple of years? I’m just confused and really torn but if this Groupon thing is as good a deal as it seems, it could save me thousands of dollars. Any help or input would be much appreciated! You guys rocked my socks off last time with your answers. Thank you!!! :notworthy:

If you want a career, get the CELTA or an equivalent. The difference is a CELTA has observed teaching practice, with practical feedback on your teaching. The other stuff, you can google. On the CELTA, you’ll get a practical intro to teaching, but most importantly, it’ll open up further study and better jobs, a few years down the line. Short term, you’ll see no economic advantage, but long term, it’s an absolute pre-requisite, especially in the Middle East and Europe, if you want to develop a moveable career.

If you want to simply get a work permit, I don’t think it matters.

What may matter is having a bachelor’s degree rather than an AS degree. For a long-term career, I think it would really benefit the OP to finish a BS or BA first.