Thank you

Thank you.

Legal advice is worth what you pay for it, but I’m an attorney and you asked for free advice so here goes.

First, you said you didn’t want moral advice but I can’t help it. What you’re talking about doing is really crappy. Your friend loans you money and sets you up with an apartment and you want to abandon it without giving notice, paying the utilities (and rent?) or repaying the loan. That’s a really shitty thing to do, and your perception that he doesn’t need the money is bullshit. Who are you to judge whether he needs money that is legally owed to him? You lied and stole his money.

But as for the legal questions, you can be sued in Canada, the US, Iraq, Iran or Afghanistan. Anyone can sue anyone where there is a court. The question is whether he can win the lawsuit. Does he have legal grounds and standing? In Canada probably not. In Taiwan definitely. Can he collect a Taiwan judgement in Canada? Probably but it will probably not be worthwhile for such a small sum.

So if you really want to screw him over you can probably get away with it without legal repercussions. But why don’t you think about doing the right thing and paying him the money that is owed? Eventually it’s good to grow up and learn to act responsibly. Why not start now?

Sorry to chime with moral advice, but that is clearly the answer here. You should pay what you owe, even if it pains you to do it now that you’ve had a falling out. He lent the money out of the good generosity of the friendship that once existed, and how are you repaying that generosity?