That Jump from Teaching to Something Else

Hi
I’ve been living in Taiwan for a couple of years and I love it, but it’s never been my intention to teach English for a career. I didn’t expect to stay so long here, but things just happened, and I find myself very happy here now. The main problem for me is the uncertainty of not having a more stable career. I have a degree, in a business field, and a couple of years experience in a big bank who actually have a presence in Taipei also. I came here as a sort of career break - but then things really changed in the economy at home, so I decided to stay here.
Does anyone know if it’s realistic for me to pursue a job with any of the banks here? I can’t speak Chinese which I regret. But I wonder, if having a degree and a couple of years experience with a major bank could help me get in to a bank here. I would appreciate any advice. Thanks guys.

Well, first, congrats on being smitten with Taiwan! It’s not perfect, but it’s a lot better than some places I’ve been to.

I guess it depends on the exact nature of your experience, but not speaking Chinese is probably going to be a handicap; also, you’re not likely to earn much. I have a friend who works in a big multinational bank in a middle-manager position and she earns about US$2000 a month. That’s a good salary.

Most foreigners here just start their own business if they have a skill other than teaching. I’m planning to do that myself very soon. Apparently it’s not too difficult as long as you have an accountant to handle the convoluted tax and reporting requirements. Taiwan has a serious skill shortage in several areas, especially in engineering, design, architecture, and advertising/PR (basically, anything creative) so foreigners with that kind of experience do very well indeed.