Top 10 concerns when living in a foreign land like TAIWAN

Hi everyone,
As a Taiwanese EFL teacher, I had always been interested in promoting intercultural understanding so as to help students better English. Currently studying in the States, our instructor brought up a very interesting issue; that is, what are the top 10 concerns people have when living in a foreign land? This is why I am seeking help from all of you to come up with your specific concerns concerning your life in TAIWAN.

To begin, I would like to give you some background knowledge about Culture as a big C and culture as a small c. (Many of you might have known this, though, so please see this as additional information.)

Big C” Culture- more formal
Requires knowledge of social, political, and economic institutions, great figures of history, literary and artistic works

“little c” culture-- aspects of daily living
housing, clothing, food, patterns of daily behavior

"Brooks (1968) argued for the importance of “culture with a small c,” which includes information about everyday life and the emphasis of teaching culture in foreign language instruction was changed rom “Culture with a big C” to “culture with a small c” (Lafayette, 1975c). " (Kitao, 1991, cited from ilc2.doshisha.ac.jp/users/kkitao … ulture.htm)

So, I would really appreciate if you could kindly write down 10 major concerns when living in TAIWAN. anything related to culture is fine, such as traffic, food, language, music, politics, etc. Please don’t worry about big C or small c. I will report back the top 10 items you guys, if any, have mentioned. Thank you again and I look forward to your reply!! :notworthy: :notworthy:

Speaker trucks
KMT protests
Scooters
Taxi drivers
Blue trucks
Laws so flexible they can put their legs behind their own heads