Trouble Leaving a Company

I am trying to change jobs at the moment and am having trouble with the company I am trying to leave.

I am out of contract and have not sign a new one but I did write a letter saying that I indended to say for another 4 months, is this letter legally binding?

Also, what documentation do I need from my old company in order to leave? Do I have to get a letter of release? I know I need a letter to prove that I have two years work experience in order to get an ARC through the new company, but do I have to get this letter from my company or can get it from a government agency?

Search the threads here for plenty of information on this. I can’t imagine how your letter of intent could be legally binding. If you are “out of contract” does that mean your work permit/ARC has expired? If so, what’s the problem?

I’m not saying that paulod’s paticular “letter of intent” is legally binding in Taiwan, especially as none of us other than paulod have knowledge of the content of that letter. If the “letter of intent” is more of a “promise” and that “promise” was reasonably relied upon by the promisee, the issue is not so clear.

In Taiwan, unilateral promises CAN be binding, depending on the circumstances in which they are made. This differs from the Anglo-American approach to contract formulation that generally requires mutual benefit and obligation, or what attorneys refer to as “consideration” and a “bargained for exchange”. But I am not a Taiwanese-licensed attorney, so I am not certain of the circumstances wherein such a promise might be legally binding upon the promisor.