True or not true? Question

A. Came in on a landing visa (30 day, non-extendable)

B. I’ve been hired by a school. I’ve already received all the government documents needed for a work permit and ARC.

Question:

Do I still need to leave the country (HK), change my visa status there, and THEN come back to the Foreign Affairs Police Station on Yanping St.?

Rumor has it that the landing visa can be changed to work/resident visa here in Taipei, at the Ministry of Immigration on Jinan Rd., if you have all the government paperwork.

True or not true? Or do you still have to swing through HK?

I’m not very good at these ones - ask me one about dogs. :s

Hey, man. Give me a call. Got something funny to tell you. Meanwhile, anybody have any idea about this?

Why don’t you just call or go to the Taipei office and ask them? Just do it early… and good luck! :rainbow:

Why do think I’m asking you? I’ve gotten different stories on it—from that same office and from the police and from the school. Girfriend called for me and got different stories as well—key point being whether or not they change a landing visa.

Maybe I’m missing something. But if you have the docs, why not just go to the office to change the landing visa to a work permit and ARC? If they say no, then buy your HK ticket.

Right. Your missing the reason why I’m posting, Dragonbones. I’m trying to get reliable information that will save me an unnecessary step or trip.

We’re not reliable. :laughing: The police who stamp your visa are reliable. Best of luck, mate!

I commend your effort to do the right preparation work. But Dragonbones advice is sound. Taiwan legalities and paperwork can be a total crap shoot. You might just hit lotto when you go down in person and tell them your SOB story. Then again, it’s highly unlikely. The rules are you can’t. But there are many examples in which lightning has struck the same ground many times. An unnecessary trip to the gov’t office may save you a 8-10K NTD visa run.