Tzu Chi University CLTC - thoughts?

Hi all,

Just looking at a few universities to spend time at in Taiwan studying Chinese (will probably start from absolute beginner level). I have looked at a few options in Taipei (being NTNU & NTU CLD). That said, I would like to not just limit myself to the capital. I really like the short 4 days I spent in Hualien/East Rift Valley when I was last in Taiwan, and noticed that Tzu Chi University is on the MOE’s list of learning centres. I am just wondering if anyone has done a term (or more) there, or if you know someone who has?

Just having a quick look at the course, and additional activities, it seems like a program that covers both Chinese language, but also includes several cultural components that are organised by the uni. I’d just like to get a feel for what the classes are like, and also the general quality of the language school.

At the moment this is merely a thought, but I do think that taking a term or two, in somewhere like Hualien County, would really force me to use the Chinese skills I develop. That said, I am a little worried that the school may not have as many Westerners there, which might make my life a little lonely at times :cry: . Would just like to hear people’s thoughts.

Cheers,
Fish.

[quote=“fishhead”]Hi all,

Just looking at a few universities to spend time at in Taiwan studying Chinese (will probably start from absolute beginner level). I have looked at a few options in Taipei (being NTNU & NTU CLD). That said, I would like to not just limit myself to the capital. I really like the short 4 days I spent in Hualian/East Rift Valley when I was last in Taiwan, and noticed that Tzu Chi University is on the MOE’s list of learning centres. I am just wondering if anyone has done a term (or more) there, or if you know someone who has?