Utility: Traditional vs. simplified characters

Hi,

I’m just beginning my study of Chinese. While contemplating what looks like a pretty steep educational “hill” in front on me, I had to wonder about something. I know, in general terms, that different Asian countries use either traditional or simplified Chinese characters. I’m not really looking for an exhaustive list. I understand that learning traditional characters will help a great deal while I’m in Taiwan. However, I wonder about the “post-Taiwan” utility of that education.

Things like:

• Any real likelihood of people traveling to the other few places where traditional characters are used?

• Even where the characters are different, is the Mandarin speech roughly the same, and so that part of the Chinese language education in Taiwan would still be useful?

• Can one who learns traditional characters read most similar simplified characters? Or are the two so different that they have to be learned separately?

Thoughts?

Thanks,

seeker4

I will reply to this question in a rather unusual way, by asking a Question, and I hope you keep this Question in mind during your beginning studies of Chinese . . . . . .

Question: Can you name me five things related to metal which are written in Chinese without the metal radical??

The point of this “exercise” is to show that what the Chinese consider the “logic” of the characters, in terms of their composition, in fact does not exist . . . . .

So . . . . . . from the point of view that “the written language is a tool for writing things down” . . . . . . (no more and no less) . . . . . . of course any efforts to simplify the characters is worthy of praise . . . . . . .

P.S. Unfortunately, here in Taiwan, the above argument(s) will not get you anywhere. Good luck with your studies.

Yes - Hong Kong and overseas Chinese communities. Japanese also uses mostly traditional (unsimplfied) characters, and they are also still used on the mainland for calligraphy.

Yes