Visa Advice

Hi

I am a newbie to this site, but would like some help form the more long termers of you.

I will be returning to Taiwan, along with my Taiwanese wife after some 40 years of absence other than vacation trips etc.

I am in my late 70’s and the reason why we are returning, is that my wife does not have long left to live, probably less than 12 months, would like to spend that time with her family and relatives etc in Taiwan, something i am only to happy to accept.

Having read some of the threads in regard to ARC’s etc, i know that i could apply for the JFRV after arrival, are there any age limits to this or not, no time before we come. What i have not been able to find out, is what happens when she finally passes away.

As it is likely that i would not have been in Taiwan any great length of time, what would the authorities do, throw me out, give me some extra time to sort out the necessary items or quite what. The TECO office that i have contacted has not exactly been helpful or a trove of information.

I would appreciate responses to this as we are due to arrive in June, and i need to deicde what to do over certain financial aspects etc.

I should point out, that i do not expect to remain in Taiwan long term myself after my wife passes away, i will return to the US, but would need some time to organise certain actions before leaving, this might take up to six months.

If any of you can offer advice, particularly if you might be in a similar type situation then please post those ideas, or PM me.

Dear Plotzed,

First off, sorry to hear about your situation and reason for coming to Taiwan. I’m sure it’s a rough time with a lot to do and think about. My sincerest condolences.

Unfortunately, I don’t have a direct answer to your question about JFRV validity after your spouse passes away; the thought has crossed my mind more than once and, despite several inquiries, I have yet to get a straight answer.