Visa overstay

This is pretty urgent so any helpful immediate replies are needed.

I overstayed my VISA by accident. I am currently 29 days overstayed.

I plan on leaving the country today to go to Honk Kong. I need to come back here to Taiwan. Can I for sure get a new Visa in Hong Kong and return to Taiwan?

Full disclosure.
-I have been coming to taiwan in and out for nearly 10 years.
-I have a girlfriend/soon to be wife and we are planning on moving back to the stated next year.
-Strictly speaking I am only a tourist here, I have no formal employment here.

I read on the old forums how to do the HK visa run, but I kept seeing them mention about bringing past and present working contracts in Taiwan. They’ll even turn down people begging to get in if only for visiting reasons.

I’m freaking out, I don’t know what I should do. I have even contemplated simply not dealing with it now, and deal with it a year later when I decide to move back to USA, how much trouble could I get it? Only a large fine? Jail time?

Ask questions if you have them, but this topic is urgent since I must leave the country either today or tomorrow.

Well I think you accidentally screwed yourself and they might ban you from Taiwan for X amount of time.

To provide some extra information.

My passport was set to expire last month on 6/6. I also has a multiple entry visa set to expire on 7/9.

I went to the office to get a 30 day extension. The lady told me I could stay in until the expiration date of my Visa. Apparently she didn’t communicate it to me very well which is why I’m in this mess.