Visitor Visa and my flight home dates.... confused

Lot of questions… so Thank you in advance for reading this thread.

Background information:
I have a 60 day multi Visitor Visa.

It is to my understanding that I MUST have a flight home purchased or currently have possession of a booked flight when I renew my visa.

Well my flight HOME to the USA, is in 5 days… and my Visitor Visa doesnt need to be renewed ( for the first time) for another 28 days.

Do I pay the penalty of $400 and change my flight?
Or do I let it run out… and buy a flight to Hong Kong when I need to renew my visa?

Misc. Information:
I do not have ARC… I have not been able to find work here… I keep getting the run around from English teaching schools.
None, ever call me back after filing out applications.
So I am concerned that if this goes belly up and I need to go home… its going to be crazy expensive to fly home.

Maybe I can change my flight multiple times? for each 60 day time frame?

Im a total noob to this. I do have a support system here… my girlfriend… but money is getting tight… and its getting stressful a bit. Though WORK from home is keeping my spirits up… Im not flat broke.

Hey Andrew,

Just want to ask what part of Taiwan are you in? Taipei?