Volunteer Teaching in Taipei

Hi!
I will be in Taipei this September. Does anyone know of reputable non-profit organizations that will take volunteer English teachers? I am willing to work for free! (as long as I get a good reference letter for grad school) I have no experience in Mandarin, however, I have taught ESL to Asian immigrants in the U.S. I’ll try to contact the local YMCA in Taipei and see what they say. However, any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. I have always worked for non-profits in the U.S., and would like to continue while I’m in Taipei.
Thanks,
Linda

If you do volunteer work as a foreigner in Taiwan, you risk arrest and deportation. You need a work permit, whether or not the work is paid.

Similar to the U.S. in this respect, or so I believe – my Taiwanese colleague was forbidden under the terms of his U.S. visa from doing volunteer work when he was there.

Thanks for the input. I do plan to get a work visa while i’m in Taipei. I’ll be there for the experience and not really for the money. That’s why I’m willing to give my services for free. I just need a list of organizations that I can feel good working for. If anyone can give specific names of organizations that would be great.

Newbie, you misunderstand. No visa will allow you to do volunteer work legally, as it contradicts the terms and conditions of your visa. I believe the only ones that can get around this are missionaries, as volunteer work doesn’t exist outside their purpose of stay. For the rest of us it does, so we are not legally allowed to do volunteer work, moonlight at part-time jobs, play in performing bands, or participate in any political activities. Ridiculous, but true.

quote: