Wanting to Teach in Taiwan, NEED HELP and I have questions! I do not have a Bachelors but an AA

Hello, forgive me if this has not already been asked or stated so many times but I request on-point information pertaining to working in Taiwan as a teacher

[ul]1) I DO NOT have a 4 year degree or BA but I DO have an Associates Degree at an accredited community college.

1. I HAVE taught in a daycare for 5 years.

2. I PLAN to take the TEFL course but am curious as to what I need to know first (hence, why I am posting here) in order to consider being qualified to work as a teacher there.

3. I have been an ESL tutor before.[/ul]

With all these factors in mind, would I still be able to work as a teacher in Taiwan?

I’m a forgiving soul.

Your “accredited community college” has to be accepted by the Taiwanese Ministry of Education. Contact your nearest Taiwanese Economic and Cultural Office first to check this.

Once you have your TEFL certificate you will be able to be approved to teach English in Taiwan. This is assuming you can find an employer who is happy with your qualifications and experience.

In order to obtain a work permit from the government, and thus work legally, the minimum education required is an AA plus TEFL certification (“college diploma” plus “certificates for language teaching” as specified by the Council of Labor Affairs). A TEFL certificate is not required if you have a Bachelors degree.

A school itself may require more.

Irrelevant for getting a work permit, and most likely irrelevant to the buxiban. However, may be highly useful to you for keeping your sanity in the classroom.

For practical purposes I would recommend taking a course with a teaching practicum in a brick-and-mortar setting, as opposed to an online course. It’s better to swim with the sharks first before blindly diving in. :2cents:

See number 2.

EDIT: Yep, everything tomthorne said above :bow: