Water ppm

Does anyone know acceptable ppm(parts per million) for drinking water?

I recently conducted a (very) informal test of water from various sources and I think the results are interesting and a little frightning.

I used a ppm tester to check the purity of the water. However, the test only measures what is in the water that isnt h2o. It could be poop,poison or peanut butter for all I know. I also don’t know what is acceptable but I tested some dirty water as a comparison. Also, I’m not a scientist but the test were pretty consistant. One more thing, I lost some of my notes so the numbers arent all excact but they are pretty close and the spirit of the comparisons are the same. I’ll do another test properly conducted for a junior high class lesson and I’ll post the results if anyone is interested.
please feel free to correct any of my assumtions because I don’t know what the hell I’m talking about.

First I tested a bottle of " pure spring water" bought at 7/11 and a sample of water delivered to my house. they both tested between 0 and 2 ppm

I tested the water on the 2nd floor of my building and it tested about 64ppm. The same water boiled tested at 75ppm

I tested the water at my roof top apartment and it test at 55ppm and 58 boiled. ( I only boiled it for 3 minutes)

I tested some of my student’s water at their houses and 3 families had non-reverse osmosis water filters and they showed about 45 to 65 ppm tap water and the filtered water was the same or 5 to 10 ppm lower.

One family had an elaberate water cleaning ritual. they used a rather expensive sediment filter under the sink and a charcoal filter at the faucet. they then poured the water into a brita filter and then boiled it before putting it into a table top water heater/filter. the “clean water” actually had more ppm than the sink water. I believe it read a 36. As a comparison I checked the water in their dirty fish tank and it measured around 170ppm.