WCIF a ㄅㄆㄇㄈ bopomofo ONLINE dictionary?

Hello all,

I have been studying Mandarin for a few months now by myself. I have studied the ㄅㄆㄇㄈ way of learning Mandarin but I’m frustrated because I don’t know Pinyin so when I search for a definition of a character it gives me the Pinyin and not ㄅㄆㄇㄈ…

Does anyone know where I can find a ㄅㄆㄇㄈ online dictionary to help me out?

Thanks!

J :slight_smile:

I used this for a while: mandarintools.com/worddict.html
Input the character, select from the drop down list, and click “Look it Up”.

Its a cool tool cause if you just have the pinyin it will give you the whole list of possible characters. Even if you don’t know the tone, it will give you all the characters for all four tones for like “li”.

However, I noticed that it was missing a few definitions. Like my name 黎 (lí) comes up as “black/surname/Lebanon” but it also means “dawn” or something along those lines.

Edit://
Ok nevermind. I just realized what you were asking for and my source does not provide. Sorry about that.

You mean when you want to know the sound (reading) of a character that you don’t know but that you can copy and paste into a search box?
In that case this will work: tw.dictionary.yahoo.com/
If you want to google for more information, you may want to use the search terms “zhuyin” and “dictionary”… :wink:

While I think it’s admirable to learn and use zhuyin, IMO you really should learn to read pinyin, which won’t take any extra work at all. It’s a simple and fairly logical system.

The Yahoo one is good, you can also try using the Ministry of Education’s website: dict.revised.moe.edu.tw/index.html This gives bpmf, Hanyu pinyin, and Zhuyin 2.0 or whatever the English name is, if for some godforsaken reason you wanted that.

I did a two-minute search on the Android Market and found the Hanping Chinese Dictionary. It supports Pinyin and Zhuyin (Bopomofo), and it uses the CC-Edict, which downloads onto the phone, which makes it hella fast!

Hi Everyone!