Weight loss/ muscle gain/ stretch marks

I’ve been working out pretty hard with weights for the last four months (2-3 hours per day every other day) and seen definite gains in strength and size, but I also have some fat to lose (I am 177 cm/ 250LBS). I can definitely lose weight quickly if I want to, but how much can I cut my caloric intake without losing muscle? Is 1500/day safe? 1000/day?

Another thing, I now have some stretch marks on my biceps from the sudden increase in muscle size under the fat (!!) Somehow I don’t think this is normal.

I’m not using any drugs or supplements, just eating lots of beef and nuts for protein, and I take long rests between sets and I always stop and rest if I feel any bone or muscle pain.

Ideas?

[quote=“beautifulspam”]I’ve been working out pretty hard with weights for the last four months (2-3 hours per day every other day) and seen definite gains in strength and size, but I also have some fat to lose (I am 177 cm/ 250LBS). I can definitely lose weight quickly if I want to, but how much can I cut my caloric intake without losing muscle? Is 1500/day safe? 1000/day?

Another thing, I now have some stretch marks on my biceps from the sudden increase in muscle size under the fat (!!) Somehow I don’t think this is normal.

I’m not using any drugs or supplements, just eating lots of beef and nuts for protein, and I take long rests between sets and I always stop and rest if I feel any bone or muscle pain.

Ideas?[/quote]

Figure out the ideal weight you’d like to be (in pounds), multiply that by 17 if you’re quite active and by 15 if you’re less active and that will show you how many calories you should be taking in daily. Try not to take in too many fewer though I know it’s hard not to be impatient. Ultimately you’ll arrive at your ideal weight and be healthier and stronger for it.

Where’s MONSTER when you need him?

My one cents worth…

1. What are your aims? Building muscle, losing weight? Both?