What am I?

Newbie here :slight_smile:

Iā€™m just curious as to whether anybody else here feels the same way as I doā€¦

The one thing which has always confused me about who I am is my nationality and Iā€™m never quite sure who to identify myself as.

I was born in Taiwan to Taiwanese parents so ethnically, I am a Taiwaneseā€¦ however I moved overseas at a very young age and hold citizenship in both Australia and New Zealand (I think my Kiwi citizenship has been given up through as my passport expired a few years back and I never renewed it).

Iā€™m in Australia now and have been for the past 10 odd yearsā€¦ I even speak with an Aussie accent (I really hate it sometimes though :blush: )ā€¦ but I donā€™t think Iā€™ll ever see myself as an Australianā€¦ and even with other people, they still identify me as a foreigner.

When I am in Taiwan, I experience similar problems there tooā€¦ I speak mandarin and I look asian but for whatever reason, strangers I encounter (whether it be taxi drivers or shop assistants)ā€¦ they can always tell that I am not exactly a native (some even ask if I am an ABC)ā€¦ and they always like to make the point that thereā€™s a difference between ā€œthemā€ and ā€œusā€. And a lot of the time, I feel as if I am being looked down upon :s

I know I shouldnt care what others think but Iā€™m just confusedā€¦ and especially at the age Iā€™m at nowā€¦ having to deal with the whole ā€˜finding yourself, figuring out who you areā€™ stuffā€¦ i dunno :neutral:

Strange thing. I remember reading a Joseph Oā€™Connor book where he talks about how Irish who live abroad permanently feel when they go home for Christmas, and then go back to wherever it is they came from. I donā€™t really belong in England, Hong Kong, Taiwan or China, but I kind of feel I donā€™t really fit in at ā€œhomeā€ either (wherever that is).