What are my chances of becoming a Taiwanese citizen?

Is it possible for me to become a Taiwanese citizen?

My background:

• Born in Taiwan in 1988 to Taiwan/American citizen parents.
  • I was born as American citizen and I never owned Taiwan passport.
  • Lived in Taiwan for 18 years before moving to the US. I had ARC when I lived in Taiwan.
  • I have been living in the US ever since.

Due to some family pressure, I am exploring options to obtain Taiwanese citizenship. However, I don’t have plans to live in Taiwan for the long term. Is it possible for someone like me to become a citizen? I was born in Taiwan and to Taiwanese citizen parents (they also have American citizenship)

I guess my background is more like American Born Taiwanese (ABT) but I am not sure if my status of living in Taiwan for 18 years makes a difference for my application.

Is it possible for me to obtain Taiwanese citizenship even though I am living in the US? Do I have to do military conscription?

yes.

The procedures to get your citizenship depend on which of your parents is Taiwanese.

Conscription age is till 36.

I guess both of them have Taiwanese citizenship.

Then you first get your Taiwanese passport. It is almost the same with infant in the following instruction.
https://www.roc-taiwan.org/ussfo_en/post/106.html

Then you get your TARC.
https://www.immigration.gov.tw/5475/5478/141465/141808/141954/

After living in Taiwan for a certain period, you can apply for a permission to get your citizenship. Minimum is for a year.
https://www.immigration.gov.tw/5475/5478/141465/141808/141950/

Then apply for your citizenship at HHR office.

Very important is if your Dad was Taiwanese then you are in

If it was your mom then you are out of luck like me

OP was under 20 in 2000, so if his mother is a Taiwanese and father is a foreigner, OP can get citizenship without a certain period of residency.

That is worth looking into !

Both of my parents were Taiwanese.