What are the top 5 Challenges you face when shopping for clothes in Taiwan?

Hi there!

My name is Eugene. I’m an Image Consultant in Taipei.
I’d like to know what are the challenges that expats face here in Taiwan when shopping for clothes? Please list up to five different challenges that you face when search for clothes in Taiwan. I’d like to help our expat community, but first I need to know what are the challenges.

As the image consultant, I’m mostly focusing on helping men, but women’s opinion is also very valuable. You could provide some challenges that you personally face or what your partner faces.

size : for men: problem if you are fat/tall, for women: also underwear size: e.g. large bra size

materials : lots of synthetic fibers here, which i dont like.

style: too cute, especially for children, hard to find plain clothes that dont have a mickey mouse on them.

6 Likes

Or sparkles. F’ing hate those sparkle splashed t-shirts.

2 Likes
  1. Size, obviously. Especially shoes. My feet aren’t particularly big, but I’m always at the upper limit of what’s available.

2. Say I want a specific piece of sports clothing (shorts, running shoes), there’s about eight nike shops in 西門, which one do I go to? Actually, it doesn’t matter, because they all end up being “lifestyle” clothing shops anyway.

3. There’s no good standard place to get reliable and reasonably priced clothes that are fairly plain. I’m thinking Marks and Spencer or John Lewis in the UK (although I’m sure America has similar), where I know I’ll get a shirt that fits, a quality t-shirt and a nice selection of ties.

4. Related to 3. Everyone seems to know where to go for “young” or “fashionable” clothes, but where do I go for quality, functional clothes. What seems to end up happening is people in my age bracket wearing clothes intended for people much younger, which they seem OK with, but I find embarrassing.

8 Likes

100% cotton shorts are hard to find.

5 Likes

Couple of things.