What can I do here besides teaching?

I’m an American born Chinese and I graduated from a law degree in 2010. I’ve came to Taiwan trying to seeking out my Chinese roots and to look for job opportunities. However I I don’t know what I can do besides teaching. Firstly, Taiwan’s legal system is completely different, so my law degree means nothing here. Secondly I do not hold a Taiwanese ID (I’m techically American), I face difficulty working here legally. If I’m not mistaken the law requires a foreinger to have at least 2 years of working experiece for employment. I can teach English and I’ve the idea of getting a TEFL certificate, but after futher consideration, teaching is not what I want for a long term career. I’ve discussed with friends and relatives and they also believed that I should not waste my time on something that is not my future career as I’m alreadly in my mid 20s. I’m hoping to work for a commercial sector such as finance or marketing here in Taiwan, but I don’t know about the chances for someone like me to find work.

I hope could give me some advice can be given as I feel quite lost about my present/future career.

My suggestion would be to consider going to China. I believe that with your law degree you may find a job as a legal researcher, assistant, or helping a Chinese company write contracts.

There are definitely legal jobs in China. You can get started by checking thebeijinger.com/classifieds.

And I believe there are legal assistant jobs that would be perfect for someone like you.

Here is one such opportunity.
thebeijinger.com/classifieds … nd-Shangha

heard there is a dancing job recently vacated. but you will need to supply your own towel.

Or work for a law firm in the US and then apply for a legal job in China later. Also I would recommend brushing up on your legal Chinese. Maybe you can hire someone who studied law in China to teach you he basics of he Chinese legal system and terms.

jobs.echinacities.com/showjob-128182.html