What does a visa run entail?

Oaky, so I’m planning to show up in Taipei to look for a job, and of course I’ll enter on a tourist visa. If I don’t find a job within a month, I assume I have to take a brief trip to some other country and come back to do it again.

How much of a hassle is it? Do I have to visit a gov’t building or is the airport good enough?

Sorry for the stupid questions. I got my first teaching job over the internet, so I am new at this.

If you haven’t found a job within the two month validty time of your visitor’s visa then yes, you will have to leave the country and get a new visa. most go to hong kong or bangkok. you’ll have to go to the taiwan “embassy” and apply and go through the same process as you did for the first one.

getting a job online before you come isn’t recommended, for a variety of reasons. more on that later if you want.

[quote=“bushibanned”]If you haven’t found a job within the two month validty time of your visitor’s visa then yes, you will have to leave the country and get a new visa. most go to Hong Kong or Bangkok. you’ll have to go to the taiwan “embassy” and apply and go through the same process as you did for the first one.

getting a job online before you come isn’t recommended, for a variety of reasons. more on that later if you want.[/quote]

Oh, a visitor’s visa is for two months? This eases my mind greatly. :notworthy:

Yeah, I found the job I have now online. I lucked out - my boss is cool and all, but there are a lot of reasons why I want to see a school before I agree to work in it.

Two months, whew! I am relieved. I should be okay, then.

By the way, all I have to do to get a visitors visa is tell them this at the airport, right? Or is there some stuff I have to go through beforehand?

Thanks for being nice and responding. :slight_smile: [/b]