What is the US education system like?

I have recently been offered a Green Card and I’m considering teaching in the US. I am a qualified teacher in the UK. I’m looking for advice about the public school system in the US, what kind of teachers they are looking for, which is the most interesting area/city to live in, etc. I don’t know much about the country so I’d be grateful for any help. Please email me gbongiovi@hotmail.com.

I think there is a great deal of variety in the public schools, from state to state, and even within states.

Then there are the many private schools.

Yours is a difficult question to answer.

IT sucks. The government, local, state and federal don’t put enough money in it. Just like the leevees in New Orleans, it’s gonna breakdown due to governmental cut backs. Each year they have some new ass slogan for us to think they are doing their job :unamused: “It takes a village to raise a child” “No Child left behind” “Reading is key” all that BS.

Okay rant over If you want to know, you should decide on what city you would be interested in working in because the school systems/districts are all governed by local/state laws. They aren’t the same in terms of pay. Most school boards have websites. Best of luck.

It varies greatly.
Many are excellent, some are mediocre and some are horrible.
Thats the PUBLIC SYSTEM

The teachers union has beat down standards and lowered the bar in most situations.

Private schools are a beacon of hope.
It depends on why you are in the buisiness.

A close friend had a nervous breakdown when assigned to a public junior high school teaching position in NYC while in his early 20’s.

It’s not for everyone.

My only recommendation is to locate the public school district in highest income bracket neighborhood your are planning to relocate to or look for a position in “magnet” public schools.

If you get a position in the inner city within a low income neighborhood, be prepared for the worst.