What is the worst job you've ever had?

I was just randomly thinking about some really shitty jobs I have had, and I am curious what a shitty job is for different folks.

For me, it’s easy to recall.

3- I worked as a spray rig operator on an orchard in Emerald. That’s about 800km inland in Queensland, Australia. The job itself was good. I was operating a brand new rig with pressurized cabin, air seat, CD player, air conditioning, etc. Moving forward at about 3km/hr spraying citrus trees. The pay was excellent considering I was a backpacker. I needed traveling money so I took the job. Problem is, I’m scared shitless in the dark and I was working at night. I fucking hated it.

2- Lumberjack. Did this for three summers- I was still in school. What a back breaker that job was. I was working with this older guy(65 something), and he was unstoppable. He was not human. The deal was we got a 2 minutes break between fill ups. My chainsaw would go for about 1hr before I ran out of gas. So in a day, I’d get about 15 minutes sitting down, and I had to use about ten minutes to sharpen my chain. I was young and the money was excellent for my age, so I did it. The first week, my left arm would cramp up and wake me up in my sleep. It’s really demanding on your back and upper body to run a chainsaw all week long. Not a good job.

1- And the big winner: Picking zucchinis in Childers, Australia. That was miserable. Rain or shine we had to work because the crops were ripe, and if you don’t pick them, mold sets in. Especially if it’s rainy, and it rained all the fucking time. Picture yourself on your knees all day with poring rain on your back going elbow-deep through abrasive vines. And don’t forget the mozzies. That was horrible.

marboulette

Worst ever: Worked as marketing manager for a carpet cleaning firm run by scientologists. And you thought evangelical Christians were bad!