Where can I find an English bar to watch World cup?!

Hello fellows,

i am new in Taiwan and will really appreciate if anyone can advise where i can find an English bar to watch the world cup. i know its a bit tricky though as most of the games are at 2 am so i assume most of the bars are closed :frowning:
anyway if there is any answer out there please shout me with it :slight_smile:

Cheers

Where in Taiwan are you?

I am in UK at the moment, however will be in Taiwan after a couple of days and will be living near Chilling station in Taipei City .

Think youā€™ll find thereā€™s only one real English Pub in Taipei mateā€¦ www.ontaptaipei.com

Brass Monkey shows all the games: http://www.brassmonkeytaipei.com/
and I think Seven does as well: No.7 Alley53,Lane63,Sec.2, Dunhua S Rd, Taipei

I second thatā€¦ everyone knows the Brass Monkey is an Aussie bar! You could do what the English brethren do - go to On Tap, and if itā€™s too crowded, make the Brass Monkey your overflow, as the Monkey is HUGE. Or the Tavernā€¦

Has the Brass Monkey improved on that terrible pull down white screen with poor picture, washed out colors and terrible sound?

With all the other HD options around town, thatā€™s the last place Iā€™d consider going.

That, and their 300nt cover just to get in. :raspberry:

Wait what is this about a 300nt cover? do you get free drinks or sumtin for that? Maybe a couple of giant Hoegaardens?

This thread may be of help to you, OP:

PS: The Brass Monkey is utter shite. JBā€™s or On Tap are much better options.

I think the 300nt charge goes towards drinks. But itā€™s also hard to even get into. I heard on the weekend there was a line down the street and people were buying tickets to get in. It might even be reservation only if itā€™s that full? Iā€™m not sure. I heard the Tavern was turning people away who didnā€™t have a reservation.

http://www1.istockphoto.com/file_thumbview_approve/1926299/2/istockphoto_1926299_hell_finally_freezes_over.jpg