Where to find jobs

I’ve been a frequent visitor of Oriented/Segue for quite some time now though I am not living in Taiwan at present. I’m a British guy thinking of coming to Taiwan to teach English. Got word of this site from a friend long ago.

I’ve had some experience in the UK teaching foreign students. I have heard teaching children is quite popular in Taiwan, though I wouldn’t at all be interested in this. I would like to teach teenagers or adults, from about 16 - 30 years. I also prefer to teach where there is only one branch throughout the whole island. I don’t like too many branches as I have heard frequently these schools don’t treat teachers well and there is no flexibility and too many rules on what you have to teach. I like to have some flexibility when I teach, I like to plan the classes myself, use my own material, or look through what they have available, and if it must be approved first that is fine by me. Could be a private school, flight school, small college or what have you…

How do you long time teachers find these sorts of jobs? Newspapers, word of mouth, the tube, posters?

Any information you could provide me would be greatly appreciated.

My suggestion is to sign up at Kojen (formerly ELSI) which although it is a big school with many branches and a structured curriculum it still allows teachers a great deal of flexibility about content of lessons. They have really incredible teaching materials (books/activities/database/realia an’ all that) in their branches too. Downside is relatively low pay compared to other schools.

That is the closest thing I have seen to ‘real’ teaching in Taiwan, in my limited experience anyway. From there you could scout out other possibilites. Best source of information is simply to ask around, but don’t take one person’s word for it as there are always many different opinions.