Where to marry-Taiwan or Canada

Hi all! This is my first time on this board. Glad to see there’s a good resource for those in or wanting to move to Taiwan.

So this is my situation. I’m a Candian living in Canada and my gf is also here, but she’s from Taiwan. We have only been together a few months, but would like to get married. She’s here on some sort of work/study visa but it’s about to expire in a couple weeks.
Now I know some of you will be concerned that she might just be looking for spousal sponsorship, but in fact she doesn’t care where we live. Taiwan or Canada. We’re both in our late 30’s and both have our heads on straight. We also want to have a child together, but at her age there’s no time to waste!

Anyway…we plan on moving back to Taiwan (I’ve never been) to get married and then back to Canada by Fall 2013 as I want to go back to school (if she is approved for her permanent resident card). In fact, I would like to get married in Canada and apply for PR here, but we are afraid it won’t be approved due to the timing (been together only 3 months, only having a civil ceremony, visa is about to expire, etc…) If rejected while in Canada we can’t appeal and it takes longer to get the PR 12-18 months instead of 6-12 months out of country.

I wonder what would be better…having a quick civil ceremony done here in Canada and then moving to Taiwan, or getting married after arriving in Taiwan. My fear is if we get married in Canada with only a couple weeks left on her visa it will look like we are only getting married for her PR.

In case it matters…after arriving in Taiwan I hope to find work teaching. I taught in Korea for 5 years and am eager to teach again.