Which cell phone should I get?

Hi all!

I’m new to Taiwan (Week 2 and first Forumosa post!) and am going to stay in Taipei for a while. I want to get a cell phone but don’t know which one to get. I’d like to eventually purchase VIBE’s mobile plan since they have some good prices with international calling and I have some friends who are using VIBE as well. Unfortunately VIBE doesn’t have an extensive collection of phones. I am looking for a phone that can do the following:

1. Making and receiving phone calls (duh!)
  2. Texting
  3. Browsing the internet, including gmail, hotmail, Facebook, and YouTube
  4. Accessing Skype and Google Voice so I can make even cheapter international calls and other out-of-network calls since VIBE’s network coverage is small
  5. GPS or Google Map so I don’t get lost :slight_smile:
  6. Not too expensive

I’ve been thinking about a Nokia N97 Mini since I really like its side-slide keyboard, or an HTC Touch2 which is cheaper, but I’m not sure if they can do #4 above…I’m open to other alternatives though.

Your suggestions are much appreciated!

As far as phones, I am out of the loop it seems as I just use them for calling and texting. I find big screens drive me mad because I have to charge them all the time anyway I spend so long on them.

I can however recommend that if you travel much outside the city then use Taiwan Cellular (Taiwan Da Gu Da). It has by far the greatest number of masts on the island and so provides the greatest blanket coverage.

If you are using heavy broadband, then I suppose as with land line connections then Chunghwa will always be the best. All lines lead to Chunhwa anyway and so having a contract directly through them would result in bandwidth priority and you should get a more stable connection. I don’t know for sure whether thats the case with telephone 3G, but it certainly is with land-line broadband. Perhaps others may comment better on their mobile bandwidth quality.