Which DVD R for video? (To play on regular DVD player)

So I’m new to this DVD recording stuff. I want to burn a few home video clips onto DVD for use in standard “home entertainment” DVD players plugged into TVs.

Two questions:

Which is more widely compatible with these players: DVD-R or DVD+R?

What’s the difference between DVD-R/DVD+Rs with “Video” on the box and those with “Data” on the box? Do home entertainment DVD players have slightly different kinds of lasers from computer DVD players?

Thanks in advance for any information.

Doesn’t really matter these days. Used to be a problem in the old days, but I’d say every DVD player sold in the past few years will play any of those disks.

Thanks Irishstu! Quick off the mark as usual.

So what’s the difference between the disks marked for video use and those marked for data use? In 3C, you can buy DVD-Rs and DVD+Rs marked “data”, and also -Rs and +Rs for “video”.

As far as I can see they’re all just some bits of plastic and metal sandwiched together.

In Germany there are CD-Rs with AUDIO label who have some higher copyright “tax” coming with them. Audio CD-R burner for home stereo will search for a label indicating such a specially taxed CD-R.

I guess it is the same with the Video DVD-Rs. But not sure…

I think the video and data ones were the same price.

I use DVD+R

Plus has to be better than minus, coz plus means more.

[quote=“Big Fluffy Matthew”]I use DVD+R

Plus has to be better than minus, coz plus means more.[/quote] :laughing:
Well, you’d think so wouldn’t you? But what if plus actually means “plus more not-goodness”? Bet you hadn’t thought of that.

Yes, that depends if “R” is good or not, then DVD-R (without R) would be better then DVD+R (with R). You’ll have to ask IrishStu, he’s the expert in here.

I can DVD+R on my standalone DVD player for what it’s worth.