Which Language Schools In Taipei Do You Recomend For A Teaching Job?

I’m a newbie with a TESOL certificate and I want to go to Taiwan. I have been all over the Internet trying to dig up some information about language schools in Taipei. Honestly, the stories I’ve read are nightmare fuel. Getting screwed in your contract, withholding wages, excessive workloads, you name it. However, every now and then some postings will end by saying something like, “thankfully now I work for a great school” but they NEVER say which one they are? I have a huge, and I mean a huge list of schools that people have black listed. This doesn’t really help since it gives me the impression that all of the language schools are horrible. So I want to ask, which language schools have you worked at? Which have a good reputation and which ones would you recommend?

LMFAO
The good schools foreigners generally keep quite about , for selfish but understandably selfish reasons. One of the main reasons it is a mess is because of the libel laws (Pulblic humiliation). This site could get sued even for allowing correct factual information to be posted. Allegedly freedom of speech is allowed here but not if it causes a public loss of face.

1 Like

Would you happen to know of any? I think my best bet is teaching business people (adults) since I have an MBA.

The British Council is the best cram school I’ve ever worked for.

Keep in mind people are much more likely to make a post about a job they hate (or complaints about work conditions) than post about a job they like or love. Not sure why this is… maybe because it’s more interesting to read about, or frustrations with work conditions bring out more pent up feelings. But whatever the reason don’t take the posts here as a true metric of bad schools/jobs vs good ones.

If you can get into the country you can work at my school. Terrible management but at least we are honest.

5 Likes

Your user name does not match with your statement lol