Which School? Which City?

I have been accepted to Chinese Culture University in Taipei and National Cheng Kung University in Tainan. Now I have to tell the scholarship office (TECO) which one I want to go to. Any thoughts?

Also, lately older people in my life have been asking me ‘what is all this leading to’? I am 32, don’t know what I want to do ‘when I grow up,’ and have been teaching ESL for a long time, and writing/reporting before that. I am interested in foreign languages and traveling. I teach as a means to an end except that as an adult ESOL teacher I am hardly getting by. I still live at home. My interim plan is this: I got a 2-month teaching position in Seoul for the summer (test prep). The idea was to do that, make some money, go to Taiwan and study Mandarin, and I hope, make some money on the side by tutoring/teaching English. (Will I get busted if I try to do this?)

All I’ve ever wanted to do was write books, but I am mature enough to know that I have to do something else to pay the bills and put away some savings. I just wish I knew what that was. I am rambling here, but my question is – if I carry out this interim plan (summer in Korea, school year in Taiwan), where could it lead?

What departments have you been accepted into? I attend NCKU. The department is the deal-breaker, really.

NCCU is up in the mountains. Lovely, apart from when it’s winter. NCKU’s in the middle of the city and everybody speaks English (though they all stop being able to speak English when your Chinese is better than their English… weird). Milder winters, though still cold as hell for me.

I didn’t realize Taiwan got cold weather. But what about the programs and the lifestyle in each place? Where do you study if I may ask?

I realized I didn’t answer your question – I have been accepted to Mandarin Language Centers at both schools (non-degree).

Do you already have at least a four-year university degree?

What passport(s) do you have?