Which textbook to use after Far East Everyday Chinese 3?

As per the title.

I am self studying and using the Far East series of books. I believe that book 3 is the last one that they do. Where should I go from here?

Perhaps Practical audio visual chinese book 4?

for those attending language schools where did you go after finishing this book?

Thanks

You could try Taiwan Today.

I don’t know how far along your Chinese is, but after getting a basic foundation in the language I found it most useful to ditch the textbooks and use a couple of different resources to learn the language.

Personal information: I’ve been studying Chinese since 2007 in academic and nonacademic environments. I’ve completed Harvard’s modern Chinese courses and studied for two years, unstructured, on my own as well. I’ve helped others develop study programs, tutored Chinese, and I’m currently doing comparative historical research in Taiwan and China about genealogical work.

Below are resources; following the resources are my recommendations for combining them into your own textbookless study program.

Vocabulary Sources

• Ngram frequency lists, very useful for learning common characters, two-character words, and chengyu/4-character phrases
    lingua.mtsu.edu/chinese-computing/
  • Weibo. Great to get words and grammar patterns in context, but in short and manageable chunks. Follow people who write about things you’re interested, or search for terms to find examples of how they are used.
  • News articles. Always be working through a news article. Especially early on, it’ll give you a great source of accomplish once you’ve conquered one, one sentence at a time.

Grammar sources

• Weibo and news articles. Be on the lookout for patters.
  • Chinesepod.com: Great short lessons that highlight new vocabulary and grammar in a fun, short podcast.