Which "type" of chinese university

hi everybody!

i’m currently living in taiwan and try to pick up chinese :>
i studied before at the cld and switched last semester to mlc. both of those universities are “just” teaching the chinese language.
but now i’m came up with the idea to switch again to nccu/shida/… why?
people are talking about which school is the best, but i think there are 2 categories of schools. language training centers (cld, mlc, …) and university bachelor programs (shida, nccu?,…)
i think enrolling in one of the bachelor programs makes a lot of sense. first of all i want to learn more about history, geography of taiwan/china, but the chinese schools offer very limited culture classes.
second i believe that a degree (bachelor) seems more valuable then just a language proficiency certificate. (top or whichever)
and last the costs for a university are the same or even cheaper than cld/mlc.
on the other hand the chinese classes already take so much effort and time. when i enroll in an university it will be even more time consuming. which means no time for part time job or anything.

what do you guys/girls think about this?

i already have a dual degree in computer science and economics and plan on finding a job in taiwan/china. i’m studying chinese as a (actually very serious) hobby. :slight_smile:

Why would you do a BA when you already have one? There is a much better selection of English-language master’s programs in Taiwan, including “East Asian Studies.” I recommend looking in that direction.

hey, odysseyandoracle.

thx for your answer.
can you recommend a school with east asian studies master?
i saw nccus is a bachelor program, ntnus is just taught in chinese and requires a high level of chinese language knowledge.

also the “i have already a degree” was a little lie, because i haven’t finished my master thesis, and can’t until i return home.