Who is a foreigner in Taiwan NOT teaching English?

I have always been curious to know how many foreigners who are in Taiwan for the long term that DO NOT teaching English.
I want to know, can foreigners in Taiwan do some other kind of job OTHER than teaching English.

I see foreigners married to Taiwanese ladies who plan to settle down in Taiwan, but all they can do jobwise is to teach English. Nothing else.

Who here is working in Taiwan and NOT teaching English or anything similar. That includes: proofreading and editing.

I’ve been here for ten years and I DO NOT teach English.

:sunglasses:

That fact that you posted this in the Teaching English in Taiwan forum means you won’t get as many replies as you should, since non-English-teachers are unlikely to look here.

That said, and in answer to your question, I’m a foreigner and I’m a technical writer.

[quote=“Anubis”]I’ve been here for ten years and I do NOT teach English.

:sunglasses:[/quote]

What do you do as a profession?
No real specifics required if you do not want to share.
Perhaps you can at least mention the industry you are working in.

[quote=“irishstu”]That fact that you posted this in the Teaching English in Taiwan forum means you won’t get as many replies as you should, since non-English-teachers are unlikely to look here.

That said, and in answer to your question, I’m a foreigner and I’m a technical writer.[/quote]

I don’t care about the amount of replies I get. It is not a competition to see if I can get the most replies in this post.

Are you including technical writing and copywriting in your “teaching english”? Both of which I do and have done.

Being involved in using the English language is a major industry here because it’s a skill that many native speakers have and one that the locals need to work in a global marketplace. It’s certainly easier to get into a field such as writing here because there are less fish in this particular pond.