Why are American politicians that support Taiwan mostly republicans or conservatives?

Bolton rebukes Beijing for incursions into Taiwanese airspace

I know this is an old news, but I was just wondering why almost every American politicians that support Taiwan are republicans or conservatives? And even those US presidents that were some what pro-Taiwan or at least in favor of status quo are republicans. I thought self-determination of sovereignty is more of a lefty ideology?

I don’t think determination of sovereignty is an issue that would fall on the left right dichotomy. More of a who and where you are thing. But anyway to Americans who support Taiwan I imagine sovereignty isn’t the issue so much as simply going back to anti communist sentiment.

1 Like

I’m not an expert but some of it goes back to the so-called “China Lobby” in the years after 1949, see this pdf

https://digitalcommons.calpoly.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?referer=&httpsredir=1&article=1026&context=forum

Taiwan has a powerful contemporary lobby in DC
TAIWAN LOBBYIST WROTE REPUBLICAN PARTY RESOLUTION CALLING FOR MORE WEAPONS FOR TAIWAN

https://theintercept.com/2015/03/24/taiwan-lobbyist-wrote-republican-party-resolution-calling-weapons-taiwan-2/

3 Likes

If you’re a cynic: Because Taiwan buys a lot of weapons from them.
If you’re a romantic: Because Taiwan is Asia’s only democracy and should be defended militarily by the US to stave off Communist China and protect freedom.

6 Likes

Why would you think that?

3 Likes

Because human rights are a dead letter.

1 Like

If that’s it, why don’t they just sell as much as they can? Taiwan is perfectly happy to buy way more.

1 Like

Obviously not that that simple, but prob safe to say business interests, national security interests, ideology in some combo.

What’s your take?

1 Like

That piece is Taiwan.
There’s no negotiating over Taiwan. The Dems know it and stay away. The GOP knows it and trots it out every four years or so to show the status quo.