Will be arriving on the 1st of april

hello, i will be arriving in taiwan on the 1st of april and have a few question of what i should expect when i get there.

-what is the average rent for a furnished 2 bedroom apartment (i’m coming with a friend)?
-what are the average wages for a hundred hours a month?
-are jobs hard to come by right now?

this is all i can think of asking right if there is anything anyone would like to add please feel free. i am brand new to taiwan and any extra info you can give me will be greatly appreciated.

p.s. niether of us have jobs yet were hoping to find them when we get there.

[quote=“woda123”]hello, I will be arriving in Taiwan on the 1st of April and have a few question of what I should expect when I get there.

-what is the average rent for a furnished 2 bedroom apartment (I’m coming with a friend)?
-what are the average wages for a hundred hours a month?
-are jobs hard to come by right now?

p.s. niether of us have jobs yet were hoping to find them when we get there.[/quote]

Don’t do it Woda !!

Firstly getting a job in Taiwan is difficult because you need a staying and a working permit. No job no working permit. No working permit no staying pemit. No Staying Permit you have to leave the country every 90 days

I know this from experience. A lot of expats there fly to HK every 90 days for the visa and it is a pain in the bum.

There are two ways round this though.

You can get a staying visa if you go and learn mandarine 10 hrs (minimum) per week in the school. This still doesn’t allow you to work

If you have a degree in english you are OK you can teach and get both permits automatically

You don’t mention what you do but the average salary for a local skilled worker can vary a lot 50-100,000 NT$ and taxes are quite low (20%). For 160-200 hrs/month