Will I find myself in Taiwan?

hey everyone,
I’m new to this great forum and this is my first message… WOOHOO!!!.. Well I’m coming to Taiwan in mid-May, and I’m studying at shi-da… so im really really really excited about that… I’m probably gonna stay a year and a half… i can’t wait, this past semester at school has felt sooooo long cause i can’t wait to go… anyways, my question is this… i’m a CBC (canadian born chinese), i’ve grown up in a predominately white area… not that i don’t enjoy it or anything, but i’ve never had a feeling that i’ve really belonged… there’s been active and passive racism against me, but that’s not even the main thing… its just a feeling i have, that there’s some place in the world where i’ll really feel at home… so is Taiwan gonna be that place, or am i just setting myself up for a huge disappointment… are they gonna treat me weird cause i look like them, but im not really… i know i shouldn’t put such huge expectations on this trip, but i want it so badly to go well… i know it well be hard for people to answer this question cause everyone is different, but it would help me out a lot if anyone had any similar feelings and experiences… thanks so much

Yes, it will be good. Most of the locals will think you are cool, and you’ll probably be able to lose your virginity. :wink:

maybe, maybe not. keep an open mind. it seems like a lot of ABCs and CBCs expect to find what they were missing only to find out that maybe they weren’t so lost after all. I’d come expecting nothing and be surprised by how much you find.

Like anywhere else, Taiwan will be, in a large sense, what you make of it. If you put in the effort to live it up to the fullest here, then you should be fine. If not, then you probably will be disappointed. Two things that have helped me get along in Taiwan:

1. Don’t expect things here to be like home
  2. When things aren’t like home, don’t try to change them because it’ll just frustrate you that much more