Will knowing some mandarin help me get a job?

Hey Everyone,

I’m graduating from a college in the states and I’ve been studying Mandarin for three years now. I’m by know means fluent but I can speak and understand some and I’m assuming I’ll be able to improve a lot once I get to Taiwan. Do you think this will help me find a job teaching English in Taiwan? Would it be more helpful in certain places (maybe where english spoken less, like outside of Taipei) compared to others? Any advice you think will be helpful is welcome. And in case it is relevant, I am white, male and have no teaching experience. Thanks!

peace,
Joe

1. No. Might even work against you. I would not mention it.
  2. Not sure. My intuition is that it would not. People are buying an exotic, hairy, white-skinned person who makes strange noises, and that’s what they’re selling to the parents, too. So speaking Chinese sometimes removes that mystique.
    And even though you didn’t ask, will Mandarin help you get a job somewhere else? Only if you have other skills in the first place.

Harsh but worth keeping in mind.

Most parents are paying money for an English only environment with a native speaker.

The native speaker is usually an exotic, hairy, white-skinned person who makes strange noises.

It probably won’t help you at a regular school to get the job, but it certainly will if you want to teach private students. And unless things have really changed, it should help you after you get the job to keep on good terms with parents. I haven’t taught in years but I never encountered a single incident of a parent thinking their foreign teacher had lost his mystique or value for speaking to them in Chinese. Most seemed relieved they could communicate about their child’s progress in a language they were more comfortable speaking in.

In any case, knowing Chinese will make your life outside school immeasurably better.