Wiring Large Amount of Cash into Taiwan

I plan on buying a house in Taiwan. My parents were nice enough to offer to wire me a large sum of money to help with the initial down payment. I was wondering if anyone has ever wired over a million NT into Taiwan. Will there be any difficulties? Will the money be taxed? Any helpful responses will be appreciated.

If they are wiring out of the USA, any amount over 10,000 USD and the bank will be obligated to report the account holder information to the authority. Could be used later for tax audits.

Unless they do TT and large wires frequently could be more hassle than its worth.

Would recommend breaking transfer to under 10,000 USD at a time.

My parents will be TT the money from Canada. Not sure if that makes any difference. Question is, would it look suspicious if they TT $10,000CDN several times within a short time period. Will I also get taxed in Taiwan when the money comes in?

As far as I know, and I’m no expert, money sent from overseas is not usually taxable.

At worst, someone will call and ask you about it, and you reply that you’re buying a house with the help of a loan from your parents, and that should be that. It’s not “income”, it’s a loan, right?

Which bank are you using? If you do it through Citibank, HSBC, ABN, etc they should be able to advise you as they do this sort of thing all the time.

Better change your signature line until you get the cash. Don’t want to give the game away.

No, the money’s not for a Ducati. It really is for a house., and yes it’s a loan, not income. I’m using China Trust, use them for wiring out money, and it was very hassle free. I don’t see why it should be any different for money coming in. I’m just worried that the Taiwan government will pull something our of their ass, and tax me or something.