Words people think are English (eg. High, PK, Fighting)

Hi

I’m a student of Chinese and I’ve noticed that some Taiwan/Chinese people use words that they think are English but aren’t really used that way in English. Sometimes they even force these words into English sentances.

For example,
The word “high” is used in Chinese to express happiness (高興), whereas, as you probably know, if you use it in English, people will think you are talking about drugs.

Another example is the use of the word “Fighting” to encourage people (加油) and PK to talk about a head-to-head [elimination] competition.

Can you give me any more?

There are many; sometimes they are improvised by individuals. Another popular one would be the use of “man” as an adjective, meaning masculine. Still others: 3C and vs

I’m not sure I get the point exactly, but my daughter sometimes says to “close the light” instead of “turn off”, apparently because in Chinese you say to “close” a light (not that I know Chinese).

Nono… I mean “English” words that are used by Taiwanese when speaking Chinese, which don’t mean the same as in proper English. Your examples are more a case of chinglish

Yep! that’s it, 很Man is a good example.

DM, which I assume stands for “direct mail” or “direct marketing” because the person is usually talking about an ad.

Haven’t heard “fighting” for 加油. I’ve heard “go! go! go!” and the literal “add oil!” though.

VS is an interesting one. I used to wonder why the news was reporting so many fights.

I was under the impression that although people use PK they know it comes from Japanese from, I think, the very popular street fighter game. Many Chinese people when they speak Japanese might use “game over” in conversation but I don’t think they think it is a Japanese word.
They know PK is not an English word.

[quote=“Taigottawanna”]DM, which I assume stands for “direct mail” or “direct marketing” because the person is usually talking about an ad.