Work ARC to APRC better than JFRV to APRC

In a bit of an odd situation regarding preparing applying for my APRC. Basically I’ve been working in Taiwan for 4 years 10 months. I’ve always worked in an office at three different companies and had a couple of 1-2 month extensions in between work ARCs. I’ve currently been working at my current company since March.

My 5 year APRC application date is mid-July however I was just married to a local 2 weeks ago. I have been pushing my company to enroll me for the new labor pension act so that I can start receiving pension payments etc… However they told me I must first apply for my JFRV to be enrolled.

So went to the immigration office to see if I could change my work ARC to a JFRV so that I can start getting pension, and still be able to apply for a foreign professional APRC in July but they said this was not possible. If going from JFRV to APRC the documents they require are different and you would be considered a dependent when applying in July for my APRC (you can still apply for open work permit of course).

Although you can still apply for APRC the lady explained that this APRC would still be subject to the 183 days in Taiwan requirement. Previously one lady at immigration told me when applying for my last ARC extension in February that I could use this extension to apply for a foreign professional APRC in July but the lady I spoke to yesterday said that she was 100% sure this was not possible. She said you could still apply for APRC but it would not be the foreign professional APRC with relaxed resident requirements, only need to enter Taiwan once every 5 years to maintain status.

So in short what I learned was that:
Work ARC to APRC = Foreign Professional APRC (5 years 1 entry requirement)
JFRV to APRC = Dependent APRC (183 day residency per year)
ARC Extension to APRC = Dependent APRC (183 day residency per year)