Working and Work Culture for Expats in Taipei

Hi, first time poster, long time reader here…

I’ve just graduated from university in Sydney, Australia and I’m looking for work here and back in Taipei too (I was born in Taipei and have dual citizenship). Without access to the English-language newspapers in print, the only place I’ve been looking for jobs (non-teaching) in Taipei has been on this site.

Can anyone give me any idea where else to look? The working language would need to be English (as I am a Communications/Marketing graduate) , though I speak conversation Mandarin too.

I’d really appreciate it! Thank you…

Also, what’s the deal with job applications here?

How are job interviews conducted? And how long should I expect to wait for a response?

Does anyone have any helpful stories to tell about their own jobhunt experiences?

[quote=“teacup”]Also, what’s the deal with job applications here?

How are job interviews conducted? And how long should I expect to wait for a response?

Does anyone have any helpful stories to tell about their own jobhunt experiences?[/quote]

Well teacup if you are a male I’m sure you could first start with compulsory military service. Staying here on an Aussie passport does not protect you from that as you are also an ROC citizen.

Hey,

I’m in a similar position as teacup…

Just graduated from Melbourne University and am heading back to Taipei to learn chinese.

My understanding of the military service law is that if you were born on or before 1984, then all you need to do is exit the country every 4 months.
So basically hop over to Hong Kong of Japan then come back.

If you were born after 1985, then you are limited to a total of 186 days you can stay in Taiwan each year.

Head over to the OCAC office near NTU Hospital for relevant information and brochures.

Anyways… back on topic… I am actually wondering the same thing.