Working as a translator/editor without work experience

So I’ve been in Taiwan for about 2 weeks trying to find a job as an English teacher with no luck. I have had 3 job offers, but all of them were part time, no work visa, no ARC, and wanted me to work illegally. Teaching English is not what interests me, learning Chinese and working as a translator is. I recently saw a job for a book store as an editor in Taipei and tried to apply but was told that without evidence of 2 years of work experience they can’t get me an ARC.

I’m currently staying in Taichung (because of a girl to be honest), but I’ve been rooting around in these forums, and heard that if you have a Masters degree then you don’t need 2 years of work experience to take those kinds of jobs. So there’s really several questions I want to ask.

1. Can anyone clarify exactly what the rules are concerning this work experience stuff?
  2. If I work as an English teacher for 2 years then change jobs to being a translator does that count?
  3. If I work as a freelance translator can I still get a work permit?

No work permits for freelance translators, I can tell you that. It’s a very gray area of the law, even if you have a work permit from another source. But technically, the Taiwanese government considers that translation (even/especially Chinese>English) is a job that can be done by Taiwanese, so there is no reason to issue work permits so foreigners can do it. :unamused: