Working for a newspaper

Hello there -

I am a trained journalist with five years’ experience working in newspapers in the UK and I am thinking about moving to Taiwan next year. Could anybody tell me how feasible it is for someone like me to find work on a paper in Taiwan? I see there are three or four english language papers - is it possible to get work as a journalist on these, or do they only take on foreigners to carry out editing work and proof reading? I don’t speak chinese unfortunately - is that a pre-requisite?

Thanks for you help. Any tips or advice you could give would be great.

Cheers,
Neil Macfarlane

Please also consider government publications as possible venues. We have several magazines and newspapers, for both central and city governments, as well as each ministry’s publications. Good luck.

It will be easy for you to get a job as a copy editor at the Taipei Times or one of the government publications. As a practical matter, you will need to be able to speak and read Chinese to work as a journalist here in the traditional sense. It is also widely believed here by the Taiwanese management that runs the media that foreigners are inherently incapable of understanding Taiwanese society and therefore must not be permitted to do any reporting except perhaps features writing. You may well be able to find work at one of the foreign financial news services here after a stint at the Taipei Times. Bring your sense of humor.

It’s also worth noting that in order to get a work permit as an editor, you’ll need to have documented work experience. Bring some form of proof that you worked as a journalist for 5 years as well as your sense of humor.

my advice…go elsewhere…the newspapers here are mickey mouse…