Working From Home in Taiwan - 2021

Who’s doing it? How’s it going? What’s your work from home set up? How are you telecommuting? How hard did your employer make it for you to do your job?
It seems a lot of people are doing it now. I could do it forever, but given how the employer has approached it, I doubt it will last. I’m trying to do a really good job in and maybe one day they’ll let me do outsource work.

1 Like

Depends on your job. What is it?
A research and development technician (like in chemicals, etc.) cannot do work from home. Needs to be at the lab.
Salespersons, teachers, and many other jobs can work from home.

1 Like

I’m a university teacher (technically not a professor, but basically a professor), I’m doing it

Fine for me, but not getting much response from the learners and not sure what is going on with them. I’ll keep preparing for next week and if it doesn’t work out I know my boss wants me to do some policy work anyways so I’ll just shift to that.

I’d prefer to be going into the office, but part of that is because I’ve been working from home for the better part of the past 8 years and it was nice to have a separate work life with colleagues and things again. Now I’m back to laptopping it in my pajamas.

Currently, just a laptop at a workstation in the hotel room I’m temporarily staying at. My work was already being done on the laptop in the office anyways. I’m using Moodle with the students and yesterday got set up to start using Teams as well when the time comes for meetings.

They told me to teach online and they had the software available. They didn’t complain when I went in on Monday to get my computer and then just left, nobody has asked me to come in, so I guess I’m permitted to work at home. Professors typically have a lot of autonomy and I’ve been good about going into the office since I started about 8 weeks ago, so I don’t think it will be an issue.