Working in Taiwan without a degree?

Hello Everyone;

I am 50ish, Canadian, and have a lot of experience and NO DEGREE. I want to come to Taiwan on a tourist, student or multiple entry business visa (I have read there are such things.) What’s the best option?

What’s the easiest way to find work? Best place to start? Agents or Schools to contact? Get privage classes? (I have a lot of Business English experience).

Appreciate any scuttlebut. And if you need to ventilate about my not having a degree, fill your boots.

Lack of a degree is not a problem, but I wouldn’t mention the fact you’re from Canada, eh. You might consider sewing a US flag to your backpack.

[quote=“Mother Theresa”]Lack of a degree is not a problem, but I wouldn’t mention the fact you’re from Canada, eh. You might consider sewing a US flag to your backpack.[/quote]I’m curious why Mother Theresa thinks being Canadian will make finding a job any more difficult. I realize there are a lot of us here, but I don’t think that anyone will hold it against you. At least not anyone in the position to give you a job, that is.

Sewing a US flag on your backpack? Isn’t it usually the other way around?

Just kidding, redmenace (at least he’s not a Kiwi).

Don’t worry about finding work Jim, you shouldn’t have trouble as long as you look presentable and speak decent English. No need for an agent as far as I know – there always seem to be lots of jobs advertised in the paper and I always had luck just dropping off resumes. There easily may be business english opportunities and your prior experience should help. I believe people will inform you shortly that without a degree you can’t legally find teaching work in Taiwan, but even if that’s true, that assumes you tell them the truth ; -)

There’s plenty of work here. Things will work out fine. I don’t see why your situation should be so different from that of any 25 year-old, without a degree, who finds work teaching English in Taiwan.