Would I get a better job in Taiwan?

Hello,

I’m currently teaching in China, but I’m not happy with my city or my job. I’m a new teacher as well and my school basically threw me into teaching within 2 weeks of my arrival. It is very overwhelming and stressful( only because I’m not used to teaching and performing as a clown). I have been considering handing in my resignation, but I still want to try and teach afterward. I’m thinking about coming to Taiwan because that’s where I originally wanted to go, but things didn’t work out. I’m not really sure what I should do, to be honest. I know teaching is difficult, especially for a new teacher, but my school is way too business oriented for me. It adds to my stress and my colleagues are unhelpful as well. If I leave my job in China, will I have issues securing a visa in Taiwan? I also have an injury that prevents me from being as mobile in class compared to my other teachers. Will I face discrimination at the schools in Taiwan because of it?

Not entirely clear why you’re not happy. If you’re hired as a teacher, why would you expect anything other than being “thrown into teaching” after 2 weeks? This is not a game or a holiday. A school has to be “business oriented” or it can’t pay salaries, simple as that.

If there’s something specific that’s bothering you - say, the class clown thing, which I completely understand is pointless and irritating - you’ll probably find another school that doesn’t expect that; however, what they will expect you to be is an extremely good teacher. It sounds as if you are at the beginning of your career, and that being the case, you are going to get dumped on a lot. You are Young Grasshopper, and you’re going to spend a lot of time sweeping the floor and washing the windows, metaphorically speaking, until you’re considered good enough to play with the nunchuks.