Would you be willing to trade your nice salary for ...?

Would you be willing to trade your nice salary for self-employed status (legal) and uncertain income?

• Stay put and keep that golden rice bowl
  • Quit and throw myself headlong into self-employed status

0 voters

Would you be willing to trade your nice salary for self-employed status (legal) and uncertain income?

I have been tossing this decision around in my head for almost six months, now. Would definitely value some input from others…

Keep job
safe, secure, regular salary, benefits (limited but there), good status, good working environment, but limiting.

Self-employed
more risky, but more rewarding (emotionally financially), status undetermined, excellent working environment (my own), less contact…

What decision would you make?

Kenneth

It would depend entirely on the tax position.

Do you have a wife and kids? Mortgage? School tuition? If not, I say go for it. If you don’t do it now, you’ll always wonder what could have been…

These are some the questions I’d have to ask myself before making a choice:

1. How much do I enjoy my current job?
  2. How difficult would it be to return to this or a similar position should the self-employment effort flop?
  3. How far could I fall if the self-employment idea flops or takes longer than anticipated to get going? That is, will I still be able to get by without moving to a smaller place, taking the kids out of private school, living on the street or with the inlaws, etc.
  4. How well have I researched the opportunity–market research? business plan?
  5. What’s the best-case scenario? That is, assuming everthing goes exactly as planned, how much better off will be than I am right now? How you answer this will of course depend on how highly you value money, independence, excitement, etc, and how much you enjoy your current (type of) job. Is there potential for expansion, or will I always be a “freelance” who has to work for a living?