Yearning for Peking/Beijing Duck

Any recommendations for a good Beijing duck restaurant in Taipei appreciated. Been in Asia for years but seem to have missed out on this treat. :blush:

I usually see that in take-out places that specialize in duck. Just look for the rows of roast ducks hanging near the front of a store.

The store will slice off most of the meat onto a plate, then take the remainder of the duck and stir-fry it with basil, sauce and lajiao. The store will also give you some crepe-like pancakes, green onions and sauce. Yum! About NT$350 for a whole duck that way, IIRC.

That’s what I had for Thanksgiving last year…

Soddom,

There’s a Beijing Duck restaurant near my gaff. I’m no expert on Chinese food but the duck there is excellent and i’ve been eating there quite regularly for the past five years.

It’s on Hoping b[/b] about two minutes walk west of Roosevelt. Name: Lo Wei Lo (sp.)
Address: 60(?), Hoping b[/b] West Rd., Sec. 1…it’s a big red place; you can’t miss it.

The proof of a good Beijing duck place is how good the fried up parts are after the breast has been sliced off. Best I’ve had was from some place in Muzha. The Beijing duck place on Shi-Da Rd. opposite Wellcome is alright.

But if you don’t want carry out, there’s a restaurant on Fuxing near Nanjing that serves a superlative version. The name escapes me, but it’s on the 2nd floor and it’s close to the southwest corner of that intersection. Big long signs saying Beijing Kao Ya in Chinese below the second floor window. You can see inside the restaurant from the street as there is a long row of windows along Fuxing.

Not sure about their Peking Duck, but “Bei Jing Lo” on Roosevelt just north of the intersection with Shita has great Beijing-style cooking. We’ve always made sure to stick to northern and Beijing-style dishes when ordering there and have never failed to enjoy the meal.

Just wanted to name the same place Alien already mentioned. Recommended!