Your first day experiences

I’ll be coming to Taiwan in August, hopefully working in Hsinchu and living with my girlfriend. Since I’ve no teaching experience I thought I could put my mind at ease by hearing a few first day horror stories from some of you who have gone on to become fine, respectable, and beloved teachers!

My first day wasn’t too bad … not because I was any good, but because it’s really hard to mess up the Hess stuff. I was kinda slow and boring for a while, but I think that’s normal.

It took about three months before any of my kids could understand a word I said, though – London accent is tough for them :slight_smile:

Ha ha, yeah a cockney accent would be tough for them!

I’m from the far north actually, Lake District, but have no real accent. Just sound British with quite a flat tone.

I think I’ll look up Hess some more, cheers Brendon!

You could try Global Village or another school that teaches adults in a more relaxed “English Club” atmosphere.

Mostly just talking…

My first day of teaching came less than 72 hours of arriving…and it was a 10-hour day. I had one little girl that clung to my Chinese TA’s leg and screamed every time I tried to comfort her. I had another girl who came in in tears and threw up her breakfast on the rug. A little boy decided to knock all the blocks off the table and then play “Catch me if you can” around the classroom. And the parents all wanted to meet with me and find out what my plans were for their kids. Plans? I didn’t even know what I was doing that day, let alone for the whole school year. Which, by the way, had started a week before I arrived in Taiwan. And this was all happening at 9am. I still had 9 more hours of work to go.