You're making more than $1000/hr. tell me about yourself

I started a thread yesterday about the possibility of changing schools, which just ended up being a discussion about teaching philosophies.

That’s my fault. I gave too much explanation without cutting to the chase.

If you are making more than $1000/hr. teaching English at a school, I want to know some things about you.

When you got the job:

1. Did you speak Chinese? At what level? Very well or enough to get by?

2. How much teaching experience did you have?

3. What’s the work like? A lot of outside, unpaid work?

I currently earn close to that but I don’t teach kids these days. I teach only adult conversation business English, and IELTS. My level of Chinese is crap, but my students appreciate that as they are there for the English not the Chinese.

I have 3+ years experience and an MA degree. Yes, there’s a lot of marking.

Unfortunately for you, you do need experience before you start to earn the $$$. By your own admission you have only done it a few months.

I don’t teach English much anymore. I hasten to add that I loved it and would be back at in a second in different circumstances.

I also didn’t teach at a private school.

I specialized in teaching writing to adults. And I specialized in teaching the same to civil servants and sometimes corporate employees. Most people can’t or don’t want to teach this. I found I was able to charge a significant premium–usually NT$1,500/hour. This also led to teaching conversation at a premium–my standard rate was NT$1,200/hour. I taught in English although I speak Chinese fluently. Speaking Chinese is very helpful in dealing with the administration who hires you and for reassring students that they really can communicate with you if necessary.

I rarely taught more than 20 hours a week because I found that teaching more cut down on quality and I like to do other things.

My advice is specialize and learn Chinese.